First Bowl of Salad Greens from the Patio Garden

A few posts back I talked about starting my first edible green patio garden. I know this might not seem like a big deal to lucky country folk, but to us city types, especially those of us with very little experience, growing something that we can put in a bowl and then eat right away is a pretty amazing thing. I’m growing baby cabbage, beets, violas, and basil!

I know it doesn't look like much, but it gave me a salad!

I know it doesn’t look like much, but it gave me a salad!

With a handful of store bought organic arugula, here is the rest of my salad made up of the baby cabbage leaves, beet greens, viola greens and kumato tomatoes.

Arugla, baby cabbage, beet greens, violas, and kumato tomatoes. With date/mustard/ ginger dressing.

Arugla, baby cabbage, beet greens, violas, and kumato tomatoes. With date/mustard/ ginger dressing.

The dressing for this was pretty easy:

Appliances: Magic bullet

Date/Mustard/Ginger Dressing

4 Soaked Dates till soft

3 tbsp Flax Seed Oil

1 Big Pinch Grated Ginger

1 Clove Garlic

3 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar

Splash of Soy Sauce

Mix in Magic Bullet pour on salad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

